Educator Excellence

Texas ProStart Instructors who demonstrate leadership and excellence in culinary education are eligible to contend for the annual Educator Excellence Award. Teachers must be advocates of the Texas ProStart program and dedicated to helping students achieve success. Awarded to educators who have made significant contributions in the classroom and beyond, the award package includes the following:

  • $1000 cash prize
  • Complimentary registration to the Culinary Educators Training Conference
  • 2 tickets to the TRA Marketplace
  • 2 tickets to Night of Excellence awards dinner
  • 2 tickets to Lone Start Bash
  • One night hotel stay at TRA Marketplace

Congratulations to our 2018 winner!

Kandice Norrid of Tascosa High School (Amarillo Independent School District) culinary arts instructor is the latest   recipient of the Texas Restaurant Association Education Foundation's (TRAEF) prestigious Educator Excellence Award. Widely respected among her peers and students alike, Norrid is completing her 15th year in teaching and has created extraordinary opportunities for her students both in and outside of the classroom.

“I am extremely honored to be recognized by my peers and industry leaders for this prestigious award,” Norrid says. “I wouldn't be able to do what I do, if it wasn't for my students, past and future, who choose to work hard on a daily basis and be a part of this wonderful industry.”

The National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation (NRAEF) has named Kandice a ProStart National Educator of Excellence. As a ProStart National Educator of Excellence she will be honored at the Education Excellence Awards (EEA) reception and dinner in Washington DC in May 2019 along with the other National Educator Excellence recipients across the country. She will also participate in special programming specifically for those educators. Congratulations Kandice and Good Luck!!!

Learn more about Kandice here.